sjak_awards__sam kigonya


Sofapaka coach Sam Ssimbwa and the club’s first choice goalkeeper Mathias Kigonya are among the nominees in the best tactician and goalkeeper categories respectively at the Sports Journalists of Kenya (SJAK) awards gala to be held next Monday.

Ssimbwa will battle it for the awards with four other coaches including Mike Mururi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Bernard Mwalala (Nzoia Sugar) and Sammy Omollo (Posta Rangers).

Ssimbwa is credited with turning round the fortunes of Sofapaka who were on the brink of elimination from the 2016 KPL before the team made a massive improvement in 2017 by winding up second.

In the meantime, Kigonya has been shortlisted in the goalkeepers awards and will be challenged by Boniface Okluoch (Gor Mahia), Jeff Oyemba (Kzsriobangi Sharks) and Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers) for the ultimate prize.

 The honours will go towards high achievers in various departments in the just concluded SPL which was won by Gor Mahia.

The gala will have eight categories including Golden Glove, Defender Of The Year, Midfielder Of The Year, Golden Boot Winner, Most Valuable Player, Young/New Player, Coach Of The Year and a special category dubbed SJAK Award.

SJAK in conjunction with partners will hold an end of year football gala on the night of December 18 at Jacaranda Hotel in Westlands to award the top performers.

South Korean manufactures LG Electronics will take a central role in the awards as the title sponsors.

Nominees at a glance


  1. Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)
  2. David Juma (Kakamega Homeboyz)
  3. Mathias Kigonya (Sofapaka)
  4. Jeff Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks)
  5. Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)


  1. Charles Momanyi (KK Homeboyz)
  2. Musa Mohamed (Gor Mahia)
  3. Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia)
  4. Haron Shakava (Gor Mahia)
  5. Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers)
  6. Christopher Oruchum (Thika United)
  7. Pascal Ogweno  (Kariobangi Sharks)
  8. Karim Nzigiyimana (Gor Mahia)


  1. Sven Yida (Kariobangi Sharks)
  2. Lawrence Juma (Nzoia Sugar)
  3. Michael Madoya (Zoo FC)
  4. Chrispinus Oduor (Mathare United)
  5. George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia)
  6. Ernest Wendo (Gor Mahi)a
  7. Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia)
  8. Humphrey Mieno (Tusker)

Young/New Player of The Year

  1. Nicholas Kipkirui (Zoo fc)
  2. Faraj Omind (Chemelil Sugar)
  3. Shafan Oyugi (Chemelil Sugar)
  4. Clinton Kisiavuki (Nakumatt)
  5. Chris Ochieng  Mathare United
  6. Vincent Oburu (AFC Leopards)
  7. Michael Kibwage (AFC Leopards)
  8. Brian Otieno (Nzoia Sugar)

Most Valuable Player

  1. Meddie Kagere (Gor Mahia)
  2. Masoud Jum (Kariobangi Sharks)
  3. Musa Mohamed (Gor Mahia)
  4. Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia)
  5. Lawrence Juma (Nzoia Sugar)
  6. Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)
  7. Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia)
  8. George Odhiambo  (Gor Mahia)

Coach Of The Year

  1. William Muluya (Kariobangi Sharks)
  2. Mike Mururi (Kakamega Homeboyz)
  3. Sam Ssimbwa (Sofapaka)
  4. Sammy Omolo (Posta Rangers)
  5. Bernard Mwalala (Nzoia Sugar)

One comment

Comments are closed.