Sofapaka crowned Jamhuri Day Champions

Sofapaka were this evening crowned Jamhuri Day Champions after edging the AFC Leopards 4-3 on post-match penalties.

In an FKF Premier League fixture also played to mark Jamhuri Day national celebrations, Ingwe were the better side in the opening half, and it was no surprise as they took an early lead in the match with only a quarter of an hour played through Washington Munene. The defender made no mistakes, converting from the spot.

On resumption for the final half of the match, Batoto Ba Mungu were the more aggressive side, throwing numbers upfront for an equalizer. Their constant attempts bore fruit ten minutes from time through Roddy Manga. The forward pounced on a loose ball and headed it past Levis Opiyo for the equalizer.

On post-match penalties, Davis Kasiyre, Stephen Okolla, and Lucky Musyoki converted their penalties except for Alex Imbusia, which was enough as we beat Ingwe 4-3 to clinch the Jamhuri Day Cup.

One comment

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published.